Influences

As you go through my writing (besides the Spanish writing) you will notice that many of the authors I reference or cite are American. Ever since Junior year of High school I have been obsessed with American writers. Not to say that I don’t like a good foreign writer, I mean J.K. Rowling and Nick Hornby aren’t American and I still respect their work. However, there is something about America: the rolling hills, the great plains, the mountains and everything about the people that make it up. I love those writers that can capture the thoughts and actions of Americans in their truest and rawest states. Kerouac, Hemingway, Ginsberg, Faulkner, Kesey, and of course, Vonnegut. These are just a few of the American powerhouses. Something about them just speaks to me and together they are all what I aspire to be.

In my opinion, one of the most well-known books is On The Road by Kerouac. I say this with mixed feelings. I am a little ashamed because it is just the tip of the iceberg when it comes to American writing and I feel like a sell out saying it has greatly influenced me. However, there is no point in hiding the truth. This book is what sparked my interest in American writers, the style is something I try to emulate, I love to talk about this book and challenge those who say they’ve read better, but above all else: I just want to be on the road.

Leave a Reply

